My Postpartum Weight Loss Journey (so far)

Standard

I thought I would share my progress. I am currently 8 months postpartum. After giving birth to my seventh baby. Back when I was in my 20’s I could pop out a spawn and bounce back to my pre-preggo body fairly quickly and with relatively no effort.

Then my 30’s hit. And the whole “get back in shape” game got a bit more complicated. Suddenly I had to watch what I ate, do cardio workouts (hello kickboxing) and be more patient.

Things got even harder to accomplish after Lucy was born. I was on bed rest with her for the second half of the pregnancy. And she was my first daughter and I discovered that you tend to crave sweets with girls. So, I wasn’t very active and I combined it with Krispy Kreme donuts and cheesecake and cotton candy. (No. Seriously. Those were my 3 staples.)

I gained a LOT. At 6 months postpartum I weighed as much as I did at 9 months pregnant with my second son. Plus 5 more pounds above that. For funsies. It was depressing. I am only 5 feet tall so 145 pounds is pretty obvious hanging out on my body. And speaking of depressing, I also am in the midst of battling PPD. Doing better than I WAS, but still…..it’s there. So, comfort eating was a tough thing to stop and getting up the energy sufficient to do a legit workout to burn calories and build muscle back up was pretty damn difficult. It was bad. I couldn’t walk up a flight of stairs without my legs turning to jelly and threatening to quit by the time I hit the top. I used to weigh 98 pounds with a six pack on my stomache that was just NATURALLY there. No, seriously, I was ripped without any effort. Now…….

So, I made some minor changes. I cut out all starches. And meats. And fats. The unhealthy kind at least. No, Mr. Cheesecake, I do NOT want to put you in my facehole. (Okay, yes. Yes I do. But leave me alone anyway.) I began a diet of fresh veggies, seafood, fruits, and healthy grains. Steel cut oats with strawberries for breakfast and a glass of juice with It Works Greens in it. (I cannot say ENOUGH good about It Works Greens. I SWEAR by that stuff. Helped my depression, gave me amazeballs all-day energy and helped me cut way way down on my soda and cigarette addictions) A stir fry of veggies and sea food for lunch and a salad for dinner. Late night snack of tortillas with salsa. Thats just a basic example of what I eat daily. I am careful to watch protein intake and get enough healthy fats as I am also currently breastfeeding.

I can’t do belly workouts. I don;t know what it is. But I get really bored with crunches and all that jazz. I lay down, do one, and then watch tv from the floor for an hour. So, I decided to try out corset training. Not to the extreme as some folks do. I don’t want a freakishly thin waist. I just want to streamline things, put some curve back, and not have to put in so much effort. Lazy? Mayhaps. i don’t care. I do what I want. 😉

So, I bought two really pretty corsets off of Amazon. And fell in love with corsets. I strapped it on and yes, it took a bit of time to grow accustomed to breathing more from my chest while wearing it. But I loved how it corrected my posture. I hadn’t been aware of how MUCH I tend to slouch until wearing a corset. Suddenly I was sitting up and feeling rather ladylike. I liked it. Plus it forced me to be more aware of my movements. In general, as a person with ADHD, I tend to do an awful lot of things without being very CONSCIOUS of doing them, if you know what I mean. Plus, it had the added bonus of making me look pretty darn sexy, according to Justin. (Helllooooo instant thin waist and big ta-tas!)

So, approximately 8 hours a day in the corset. Which also helps me not cheat on my diet and binge on cake. Because you cannot wear a corset and eat like a pig. It won’t happen.

Then at night, I strap on a pair of 2.5 pound ankle weights and do leg lifts. Side leg lifts, front and back. I do them all. And then I take them off and do 60-100 squats and 20ish lunges. I do all of this to get rid of my thighs and ass. To perk up and slim down that area in general. And I can’t show you pictures of THAT area but trust me when I tell you it is WORKING. Those ankle weights were the BEST $12 I ever spent. And squats are pretty darn easy. And effective.

Anyhoozle, here are my results thus far. The before pictures were taken at 5 months postpartum. The after pictures were taken an hour ago. I did use an It Works Wrap in between that time as well but the results didn’t stick around very well since I then sat around and did nothing and kept eating like crap. So, what you are seeing in the After are technically the results from the past month. When I finally started doing all of this. (Eating clean, corset training, and lower body workout)

I also went from 145 pounds to 137 pounds. Not a lot but I am pretty darn happy. (I actually GAINED 4 pounds the first month. Which caused me to cry. Until I was reminded that I was probably replacing fat with muscle and muscle weighs MORE than fat. So, I am paying more attention to the photos and less to the numbers. 🙂

before1

now1

before2

now2

Not too shabby. I’m more than happy. And I notice that the change in my diet and my body improving has really done buttloads to improve my mental state. My depression fog is not near as thick and gray these days. I’m feeling more energy and I can put on clothes I haven’t worn in AGES. I’m not done yet. My goal is 110-115. I’m getting there. 🙂 Just thought I would share my progress this far.

7 responses »

  1. Ok, First, Great Job! I am too lazy for all that and I’m sure you will get there. Second, I HATE you! Where are your stretch marks! I have 5 kids and stretch marks from 4 inches above my belly button all the way down my thighs! Not kidding! I lost enough after my twins (6 yrs old) to be 22 lbs under my prepregnancy weight and had TONS of hanging skin I had to tuck into my jeans. I had to wear jeans, no yoga or sweat pants since it didn’t tuck into those types of pants easily. I decided I would rather be fat than have hanging skin and rapidly gained back all the weight plus 4 lbs (26 total). I can never be skinny again unless I want hanging skin which is just very sad!

    • The lack of stretch marks is a blend of good genes, slathering my body with globs of coconut oil thrice daily throughout my pregnancies, and the fact I don’t gain too much too fast, mainly because puking back up all you eat keeps you from gaining much. lol I think mama bodies are super sexy. No matter how skinny I get, I will always be a bit less taut, rounder, wider hips, softer breasts. I am ok with that. I gave life. There is great marvel and power in a mothers body, despite the fact it doesnt fit the mold of so-called beauty in our society. Embrace it.If you are happiest with extra weight, enjoy your curves. If you prefer thin with extra skin, rock it. 🙂 You’re gorgeous either way.

    • I know I am beautiful. 🙂 But not being able to run around with my kids without getting out of breath, not being able to wear any of my cute clothes, feeling zero energy and super blah…….my current weight is simply not my ideal HEALTHY weight. 🙂 But thank you, doll. I find you rather gorgeous yourself, so I appreciate the compliment. 🙂 ❤

  2. I am five feet tall as well. My sister, ten years my senior, is four foot, motherfucking ten inches. We are not a tall people. She had five kids, a huge rack, and you would never know she had one. I gained 70 lbs with the first child, in my early 20’s that fell right off. I gained 60 with my second, with my healthcare team haunting me. They were douche canoes about it. Meanwhile, I am complaining about the fat, while you have ALL THESE BADASS BABIES. Thank you. Thank you. They are raised by a real mom, who really “gets it” and they may have a shot at being a real human when they grow to the legal age of “do what the eff I want”.

Leave a Reply

