Just A Lil’ Skinny Girl’s Rant

Standard

I’m taking a break from my 30 Day Letter Writing Challenge to vent about something. Frankly, I was going to take a break from it anyway today, in order to share some changes that have taken place in our household regarding discipline, etc…. I’ve had a few different fellow mamas ask me for some advice this past week and I thought I would share our new points/rewards/positive reinforcement system that has made some DRASTIC changes in our daily life here in the Land Of Testosterone. It actually surprised me how well it works.
But then I got a comment. An oh-so-casual, flippant comment. From a friend. Someone who I am sure meant what they said as a compliment. But it really irked me.
“I seriously hate you. You’re so skinny after having six kids!”
*sigh*
Look, I KNOW when folks say stuff like that, they are saying they are jealous of what they assume is just pure luck or simple genetics. They mean it as a NICE thing. I GET it.
But it really annoys the crap out of me.
Because it’s not luck or genetics. At all. Sure, back when I was 21 and had my first son and wore my pre-pregnancy jeans home from the hospital, THAT was luck and genetics. That was having the elastic body of a 20 year old. No doubt.
But now, at 33, this body takes work. A lot of work. Work which goes on even when I am pregnant. I stuck with walking and yoga throughout this pregnancy. I ate healthy. I don’t use pregnancy as an excuse to eat like a pig. What really threw me for a loop though was being put on bedrest the last three months of pregnancy. When I couldn’t be up preparing my own meals, was stuck eating whatever was made for me or delivered by friends. A lot of starches. Quite a few boxes of Krispy Kreme donuts. Etc… I fell off the wagon, so to speak. Because of the weakening of my muscles due to bedrest, eating a bunch of crap, and the simple fact I am now in my 30’s, getting back in shape was much harder this time.
So, when someone tells me they think I am “so lucky” to be skinny….it makes me want to scream. Because it sure aint luck. Trust me on this.
My day starts out before anyone else gets up. I peel my tired body outta bed and put in my kickboxing DVD. A straight hour workout at which the end I am literally dripping in sweat. :/ Ugh. Also, because I have had 6 kids come out of my vajayjay, all the kicking and lunges and such sometimes makes me pee a lil. (You moms out there will understand.) So, I’ll ave to stop halfway through to change. It isn’t pretty is what I’m saying. But I know it’s worth it. It keeps me healthy, builds stamina and muscle tone,. and makes me FEEL great. After my workout, I shower, then eat some super uber exciting breakfast like a smoothie or eggwhites with hot sauce and veggies. I make everyone else delicious smelling cinnamon rolls or ham and egg sandwiches or chocolate chip pancakes and then I enjoy my low fat diet breakfast. Lunch is usually a salad. With water because I’m trying to lay off soda. Which is basically torment a torture to me because D Pepper and Vanilla Coke are my vices. If its nice out I’ll take the kids out for a walk or a hike after lunch. Or we play football or soccer or Frisbee or tag. Please keep in mind that before I go have this active fun with the Littles, I clean the entire house. Sweeping, mopping, vacuuming, laundry, taking care of the baby, etc etc…. There is no such thing as boredom or downtime in my life. Even when I am blogging or on FaceBook, I’m usually nursing the baby or cooking a meal, etc…. I often just leave my laptop open and answer messages as I run past.
Then comes dinner. I love taking care of my family. I love cooking for them. So, I do. Even for my roommate. I prepare these made-from-scratch dinners. Stuffed Italian chicken tenderloins with roasted veggies and garlic cheesy mashed potatoes and biscuits.
Then I eat a small piece of fish with some stir fried or steamed veggies. While my family enjoys the deliciousness. Once and awhile I’ll eat with them, but I avoid all starches. Which kinda defeats the point. Why bother eating yumminess without the cheesy garlic mashed potatoes? I do it because I like to be fit, healthy and in shape.
Today I am beginning the Insanity workout. For those of you who know what that is, you’ll know it’s going to kick my butt even more than the kickboxing does. But it’s worth it. Because at 33 with 6 kids, I have more stamina and energy than some people younger than me. Im proud of the hard work and dedication that I put into being in shape. I have a RIGHT to be proud. I EARNED this body. Plain and simple. So often I tend to shrug it off and make some joke about “Oh, the only reason Im skinny is the boys eat all the food in the house. Ha ha ha!” Why do I do that? Because I feel bad. I feel like it would somehow be rude of me to brag on myself for my hard work. But that’s stupid. If a person gets a promotion at work or a certificate in school they can brag. Curvy girls can brag about being curvy and proud. So why can’t I brag a bit about what I do to accomplish being skinny? Why are skinny girls hated on for being skinny? How many times have you heard the term “skinny bitch.”?
My natural body type is petite. So, that is how I am most comfortable being. Sometimes I am a bit envious of my curvy girlfriends with their full cleavage.(Mine barely fill an A cup. I own more padded bras than you need to know. It’s all an illusion. Sometimes I feel like my elbows and calves need a bit more padding because I am always hurting them bumping into stuff and it sucks. I find great beauty and sexiness in curvy girls. But that doesn’t make ME any less sexy.
We all are. Sexy, beautiful, ravishing, mesmerizing, wonderful, flawless women. I in no way mean to make this blog sound like I am any more or less attractive than anyone else. I’m not. I’m simply me. And proud of it.

One response »

  1. I hate that comment too!!! I’m not saying I have a perfect body but yes, for having 6 kids, I am skinny and in pretty good shape but its not easy being this way. I have changed my eating habits, I have had to become more active and I am always on the go go go that I honestly don’t have time to eat large amounts of food or over indulge…I can’t give in to all the deserts and yummies that I once was able to – at 30 my body isn’t the same as when I was 18 and well, I have to keep it up and make it better because, I need this body to take care of my kids – simple as that. If you’re jealous about my “genetics” you can get some of it too – its called taking care of yourself.

Leave a Reply

