25 Random Things You May Not Know About Me

Standard

1) I have social anxiety disorder. Which means I have the ability to be witty and at ease on a social networking site, but in a face-to-face situation I am a mess of panic and insecurities inside of myself. I’m just a master at hiding it at this point.
2) I used to want to be a professional dancer when I was younger. I would practice my dance for hours and hours. I still dream of someday owning a home with room enough for a dance room with mirrors and a barre. 🙂
3) I can wiggle my ears, wiggle my nose and am double jointed in my elbows. All of these are useless. But my kids think I am awesome because of these odd quirks.
4) I tend to over think and second guess my blog topics. So, this blog is just an easy out instead of tackling a controversial subject.
5) I have a fear of deep water. I didn’t learn how to swim until I was 21 and I made my first husband teach me how to swim in case my son ever needed rescuing. Drowning actually seems to be a thing in my life. My uncle died when he was a young boy by drowning after falling through thin ice, my little brothers friend drowned when he was 7 years old and my fiancé drowned 2 years ago. Taking my kids to the beach last summer helped me face my biggest fear: that I would lose one of them that way.
6) I know how to yodel.
7) I write poetry. I have books and books filled with poetry. I’m just too chicken to share very much of it. I plan on starting to do that once a week on this blog.
8) Even though I am a hippie and I am very outspoken in my stance on legalizing marijuana, I actually don’t smoke it myself.
9) I was born and bred a Yankee. 🙂 I’m from New England, but have lived in the South for 7 years now. I love it here, and find the moutains to be stunning. But I still call North HOME (specifically Rhose Island) and I miss living near the beach so very much.
10) My dream is to someday have an outdoor, unassisted birth. I’ve done my last 5 pregnancies unassisted and had my last three labors at home up until a half hour or less before my babies were born. (My last son was born 15 minutes after I got to the hospital)
11) 13 is my lucky number. I also love black cats. And broken mirrors make awesome craft project materials. 🙂
12) I believe in God. I do not believe in judging others.
13) I can throw a pretty mean spiral with a football and I’ve got pretty good aim with a basketball and I love using a bow for target practice.
14) I have SPD. (Sensory Processing Disorder ) This means I get overwhelmed by chaos at times, noises are amplified in my head and certain sensations totally wig me out. (Like cold air, wet clothes, someone tapping my shoulder to get my attention)
15) I am currently reading “She’s Come Undone” by Wally Lamb. A must read for all women. It’s one of my favorites.
16) I have had a huge girl crush on Christina Ricci since I was 14 years old and saw her in Mermaids.
17) I have an obsessive love of literary tattoos. But I am a giant wuss about needles and therefore have NONE. (yet)
18) I don’t really think Johnny Depp is all that great looking. I never saw Magic Mike. I never read 50 Shades of Grey. I hate Nicholas Sparks books. (I may actually be a dude……)
19) My eyes change color depending on my mood. My son Baileys do that too.
20) Bailey and I also share matching birthmarks, both of us have the same shaped birthmark on our ribs in the exact same spot. My son Aidan has the same birthmark as his dad.
21) I can speed-read and speed-talk.
22) I’ve never been able to speak Pig Latin with any degree of fluency. I consider this to be my greatest failure as a human being and I shall put it as such on my tombstone.
23) I want to be cremated so I won’t really have a tombstone.
24) Speaking of tombstones, I consider two places on earth to be the most peaceful: Old cemetaries and old abandoned houses. I explore both as often as possible.
25) This blog took way longer to write than I expected. I am far more lame than I thought I was and coming up with 25 even SLIGHTLY interesting facts was darn near impossible.

Leave a Reply

