Confession

Standard

I LIKE being a mom. My children were no accident. I am a married woman who is devoted to her husband and LOVES being a homemaker. Seriously. I love it. I have no desire to dump my kids in daycare for strangers to raise so I can climb a corporate ladder. I do not feel as if I am lacking anything. I do not feel like my sons are holding me back or hindering my life. I don’t party. I don’t drink. It doesn’t even appeal to me. I am past that point in my life. I far prefer a fun family night at home with my hubby and my sons. Sure, life with 6 little boys and a hubby can be strange territory to tread. Its a lonely land at times being the only female in a land of testosterone. But it is SO much fun. People often make comments to me about how trashed my house might be, how stressed I must be. Right in front of my sons they will ask me if Dave and I plan on trying for a daughter someday. As if these sons of ours are just mere prototypes. They do not understand. They are not a fly on my wall here.
Ah Family Nights. My boys all dragging blankets and pillows into my bedroom to set up pallets on my floor. We watch movies together. We munch on deliciousness. (Baked kale chips is the newest family favorite.) We play Uno and CandyLand. Its simplicity and its heavenly. And I wouldn’t change it for the world.
Recently a friend of mine suggested I get my tubes tied because my sons were clearly holding me back from stuff I should be doing like vacations alone with my hubby. (There will be plenty of time for that someday. This friend didn’t spend a weekend last summer at the beach in SC with my clan. I wouldn’t trade the fun of those 48 hours for ANYTHING) Never mind the fact it is unbelievably RUDE to comment on anyones birth control options. (But you would be surprised how many people think its totally prudent to do so once you bypass the four children range in your family.)
What is it exactly that I am missing? Drunken nights of acting like a moron with next-morning regrets? Getting to sleep in on a weekend? Watching a tv show uninterrupted once and awhile? Meh. I’d rather take what I have now. Early morning wide-toothless smiles in my bed from my 6 month old. Being home teaching my 5 year old how to write his letters at the diningroom table. Cheering when my 7 year old wins an award. Being there to see them learn to ride bikes, how to play a new song on the keyboard, how to read a chapter book, how to use the potty. Talking with my 12 year old son about his future plans for college and a career. Talking with my 9 year old about his faith in God. Kissing boo-boos. Listening to bedtime prayers. Taking pictures of gaps in grins from recently lost teeth. All 6 of them piled onto my bed, the baby at my breast as I read chapters fo a book until my voice is hoarse and they beg for just one more chapter…….
Life is good. Life is a blessing. And I carry no regrets. I live in a small town and I frequently hear the most ridiculous gossip about myself. I mean ridiculous. It used to really upset me. I felt like my character as a wife, mother and woman of God was being slandered. But these days I find it amusing at best. I spend my days cleaning house, teaching my sons, being as honorable as possible in my daily life. I guess some people just need to talk about something. I guess some people really need a hobby to occupy them a bit more.
But anyway, that’s my scandalous confession.
That’s all.

One response »

  1. This sounds alot like my life except I only have two boys and plan to have more children. I love being a mother and I am grateful to God that I have the opportunity to be a stay at home mommy. I am very content right now with my life and I don’t really care to have all these materialistic items. I put my first in daycare so I could go back to school and I really feel as if I missed out on the first years of his life. If I could take it back I would. They grow to fast. I just had my last baby in August and he is already 6 months old and he is crawling. I wish I could slow time down.

Leave a Reply

